Home

Sitemap

Imprint

Contact

Cloos S.A.

 


Select your language:




Steel for Humanity

Video dated: 16.10.2008

...play video


33, Route De Belval
Boite Postale 71
L-4001 Esch-Sur-Alzette

Tel.: +352 57 03 73 - 1
Fax: +352 57 03 73 - 209
info@cloos.lu


Products and services

"Freintes " - WASTE


The “freintes” – waste are the residues of the wagons loaded with scrap iron for the supply of the electric arc furnaces of ArcelorMittal. The delivery of iron scrap to the iron and steel industry is generally made by railroad wagons. However, the process of unloading these coaches per magnet does not allow emptying them completely. The aim to reach is the total recycling of this waste: “Zero Waste - Zero Cost”


History
In 2002 ProfilARBED and ARES (ARCELOR group) signed a contract with CLOOS   for the treatment of this waste. The development of this project was founded on an environmental problem in Europe, resulting from the transition in the European iron and steel industry from blast furnace towards electric arc furnace: some 120.000 tons of these residues of coaches were stored on various sites in Luxembourg, whereas the European production amounted to approximately 1.000.000 tons per year.

Until CLOOS developed its plant for the treatment of this waste, there was no solution in the European Community to manage the handling of this kind of mixed waste on the basis of an ecological and economical concept.

Process
The waste coming from the various sites is conveyed by truck for intermediate storage on asphalted surfaces, before loading into the pre-processing installation specially designed for this purpose. The large iron particles are then removed by a magnetic separator. This iron is taken back by the iron and steel industry for re-use in its electric arc furnaces. The remaining material is separated by screening into three fractions: 0/60, 60/100 and 100/350. The greatest fraction 100/350 is sorted manually into wood, plastic, scrap, non-ferrous fractions and stones for recycling. The average fraction 60/100 is treated in an existing modified installation and separated into iron, non-ferrous material, light fractions intended for the incineration and stones (recycling). This treatment is the same one for the fine fraction 0/60. During the process, the very fine particles are separated into fines and magnetic fines. The various selected materials are then processed by specialized companies.


< Back

Home

Sitemap

Imprint

Contact

Cloos S.A.

 


Select your language:




Matières premières récupérables

Vidéo du: 16.10.2008

...vers la vidéo


33, Route De Belval
Boite Postale 71
L-4001 Esch-Sur-Alzette

Tel.: +352 57 03 73 - 1
Fax: +352 57 03 73 - 209
info@cloos.lu


Produits et services

„Freintes“


Définition
Les « freintes » sont des résidus de mitraille » en provenance des wagons chargés de mitrailles pour l’alimentation des fours électriques d’ArcelorMittal. En effet, la livraison des ferrailles valorisées par l’industrie sidérurgique se fait généralement par wagons de chemins de fer. Or, le processus de déchargement de ces wagons par aimant ne permet pas de les vider complètement. L’objectif visé est le recyclage total de ces freintes : « Zero Waste - Zero Cost »


Histoire
En 2002 ProfilARBED et ARES (groupe ARCELOR) ont signé avec CLOOS un contrat pour le traitement de leurs freintes. Le développement de ce projet était fondé sur un problème environnemental en Europe, résultant de la transition de la filière haut fourneau vers la filière four électrique de la sidérurgie européenne: quelque 120 000 tonnes de ces résidus de wagons étaient stockées sur divers sites au Luxembourg, alors que la production européenne se chiffrait à environ 1.000.000 de tonnes par an.

Jusqu’à tant que CLOOS développe son installation de traitement, il n’existait aucune solution au niveau de la Communauté européenne pour changer la gestion de ce genre de déchets mélangés en un concept écologique et économique.

Processus
Les freintes en provenance des différents sites sont acheminées par camion pour entre-stockage sur des surfaces asphaltées, avant chargement pour pré-traitement dans l’installation spécialement conçue à cet effet. Les grandes particules de fer sont alors enlevées par séparateur magnétique. Ce fer est repris par l’industrie sidérurgique pour réutilisation dans ses fours électriques. La fraction restante est ensuite séparée par criblage en trois fractions : 0/60, 60/100 et 100/350. La plus grande fraction 100/350 est décomposée par triage manuel en bois, plastiques, ferrailles, matières non ferreuses et pierres pour recyclage. La fraction moyenne 60/100 est traitée dans une installation modifiée existante et séparée en fer, non-ferreux, fractions légères destinées à l’incinération et pierres (recyclage). Ce traitement est le même pour la fraction fine 0/60. Au cours du processus, les très fines particules sont séparées en fines stériles et en fines magnétiques. Les différentes matières sélectionnées sont ensuite valorisées par des sociétés spécialisées.


< Retour